Skip to content

Full Circle

July 19, 2012

I wondered when I would get there. To the end of the line, the full circle, 360 degrees. I’ve been doing pretty good with my eating, if you don’t count the chili-cheese fries yesterday, which I don’t. I’ve been cooking and not eating out too much. I’ve been eating simply and healthfully. Unless you count the full bites of butter that I let luxuriously melt in my mouth. Of course, you cannot get any simpler than butter (sweet cream, salt, mouth watering typing that). I’ve also lost ten pounds. Going to the gym and calorie counting and basically being a badass for a month, then eating healthfully dotted with whataburgers and chili cheese fries and braums ice cream and butter and not going to the gym in the morning anymore because I have a new baby I’m watching in the mornings while her mom goes to class (this is how I maintain my weight loss). I need to kick it into high gear again though and get into the actually LOSING part of the equation and not just the “maintaining”.

See, I’ve been excellent about not bringing junk into the house. If I want junk I have to go out, hop in my car, drive to wherever and scarf it down. I will not bring 12 packs of coke or giant bags of doritos or *gulp* oreo cookies and ice cream and chocolate into my home where I fix food for myself and my family all day long. That’s been helping alot. But then there were these peanut m&ms.

Let me explain.

I’m kind of an awesome wife. So awesome in fact that I have been to pretty much every single comic book movie opening at 10 o’clock at night for the past 8 years. SO awesome in fact, that when my husband says that Ang Lee was robbed and that people just want to see the Hulk smash stuff and they don’t understand the inner workings of his psyche, I totally agreed. SO unbelievably amazingly awesome in fact that when we got into the worst fight of our then married-life I told him we needed serious counseling and that I signed us up for the “Power of Transformation Marriage Seminar.” Then I took him to see The Transformers (the first one, the good one) on a special screening the day before it opened to make up with him. That is an awesome wife my friends.

So, it is no surprise then that my husband already has his Batman tickets bought and we’ve been watching the first movies the past two nights. I of course, being the awesome wife that I am bought a surprise for him at the store yesterday. A family size bag of peanut m&ms. I hid it in a grocery bag and stuck it in the desk to forget about it. Somehow though, I missed that window between I not hungry and desperately seeking food and totally remembered them.

Rational Food Michelle: (RFM) If you open those, it’s curtains. You know how you are with candy.

Emotional Food Michelle: (EFM) OH but I’m so hungry and it’s been a rough day and I have a headache.

RFM: Well the good fats and protein in the peanuts will totally help that.

EFM: You know, combined with the carbs and the antioxidants and caffeine in the chocolate it should knockout your headache and complely satiate you.

RFM: And you would have something to blog about. The family size bag of M&Ms.

EFM: Totally, it would speak to people on a deep level, how we all fail. And I can just buy another bag of M&M’s but I can’t buy that kind of inner struggle.

RFM: I think we’re in agreement.

EFM: Yay! Chocolate!!!!

My Husband: Are those the M&M’s you bought for the movie?

Me: (garbled, chocolate on face) I had to eat them. They were my muse.

True story.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. DeeAnna permalink
    July 19, 2012 11:08 pm

    I like how EFM and RFM ended up agreeing. That’s how you know you did the right thing, lol.

  2. July 20, 2012 8:37 pm

    Yesterday I bit butter because of you!

Leave a Reply

