Skip to content

Fasting Friday

July 13, 2012

I wrote a post on Facebook recently inviting friends to join me in a fast today from dawn to dusk. No rules, no religion, just a petition from a human heart to a loving God. I got quite a few takers. It turns out that I’m not the only person disillusioned with the state of their life and the lives of the people they love. I actually got a few polite inquiries from people who are decidedly not believers asking me about fasting. Now, I say polite because that’s exactly what they were, polite, gently inquiring, non inflammatory, interested but not sold messages. That really electrified me in a huge way, the reason being, I believe fasting to be one of the most unders0ld, underused, misunderstood practice in the Christian walk. I also believe that if a nonbeliever were to fast for answers and idly wonder aloud “to the God in the universe if he even does maybe exist” they would get some profound and solid answers pretty quickly. After all, God himself pointed out it’s not the healthy who need a doctor but the sick.

One might think I’m being overly presumptuous in assuming that one who is inquiring about fasting is “sick”. And I can tell you beyond a shadow of a doubt, if you are an avid unbeliever and you are even considering asking God “who does not exist” for anything, it’s because you see the hopelessness of your cause. The hopelessness in a life where you go to work to earn a paycheck to provide food and clothing and mild entertainment so you can live another day so you can go to work to earn a paycheck and, well you know. It sucks. Living a life where all you’re trying to do is scratch out a niche in this huge planet and differentiate yourself from 6 billion other souls  by whatever means necessary, is ex-freakin-hausting. And pretty pointless. Now I will never and have never claimed nor wanted to be a philosopher, but the meaning of life is definitely not being American, being famous, being brilliant, being rich, being gorgeous or being noticed.

I find it exceedingly sad the number of years I spent wasted hoping someone would notice me.

Wondering if anyone cared.

Hoping someone would listen, before I asked.

Now, you might think I mean sad as in pathetic but I actually mean sad as in I’m sorry I wasted so much of my time begging for scraps from people who want the exact thing that I want, when there is this Father, this creator of the entire universe who formed me with his hands, breathed life into my body and loves me and delights in me like I love and delight in my Ducey bear. It doesn’t change when he is rotten. It doesn’t change when he ignores me, it doesn’t change when he looks me square in the face and shoves every morsel of his food onto the ground in one fell swoop. How many times have I looked God square in the face and said, ” I know I’m not supposed to do this thing that I am about to do but I am going to do it anyway just because I want to so there.” So many years spent dying to be loved, wanting this boyfriend, or that award, or this accomplishment to fill that thirst of knowing that I am indeed somebody. That I count.

I have to tell you, it’s pretty humbling and not at all cool to admit these things. And I thought about it, I really did because there is still a part of me who wants to play it pretty cool and close to the vest. After all, there’s no risk in that. But the reason I did and do write about those feelings, is if I am who I say I am, and I believe what I say I believe then everybody has this gaping chasm inside of them just begging to be filled with the love of God. So I speak not to the very cool, very collected and very accomplished person that you are, but to that void inside of you and say that you are very much loved. You are very much accepted and you are very much delighted in. If you are a believer, you know that already, and it doesn’t come from your childhood, church or your parents, but from the Holy spirit inside of you.

That’s it. The reason we fast is not as a sacrifice to God, as a punishment to remind us of how awful we are, as a sleepy religious tradition, but as a way of remembering every time the flesh yearns to fill its void with nourishment from food that God is there. A discipline that humbles yourself before a divine creator and takes the time and energy you would have spent wondering about, preparing and feeding your body with feeding your spirit. In our weakness we are strong through Christ. It’s really as simple as that.

So let me invite you to ask God to reveal himself to you, whether you decide to fast or not. Also, if you need any special prayers be sure to message me and we will make sure they get prayed for.

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2012 10:06 am

    OMG, Amen!

  2. debbie permalink
    July 13, 2012 1:49 pm

    Wow, very beautifully said Michelle!

  3. DeeAnna permalink
    July 13, 2012 3:57 pm

    I didn’t know about the fast ’til just now, so I already had breakfast, but I’m down as of this moment. Nothing but water for the rest of the day. Thanks for the challenge. I’ve been feeling called to fast anyway, so I’m grateful to do this with you. Thanks, thanks, thanks.

Leave a Reply

